jump to navigation

Efficiency/Green Example: Apple Store October 6, 2008

Posted by Jeremy in Business Solutions, Efficiency Process, Efficient Technologies, Green Business.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

So about a week ago my wife got the new iPod Touch.  Today she wanted to get a protector for it, so we went to the Apple store.  I can honestly say that I have never been in the Apple Store before but I felt like I walked into the future.  Anyway, we picked out the item that my wife wanted and then I saw a sample of efficiency in action.  The person who was helping us pulls out a handheld scanner and scans the item.  He tells me the price and says ‘How would you like to pay?’.  He takes my credit card right there in the middle of the store and swipes it.  Then he says ‘How would you like to receive your receipt?  Paper or email?’.  All I could think was finally someone realizes that I don’t want all of this paper just to throw it away.

I thought that this was a great example of how you can utilize technology to make your business more efficient, customer-friendly, and green at the same time.  It was much more efficient because that salesperson didn’t have to direct me to someone else to take the payment.  More green because they gave me the option of deleting a receipt email over pitching a paper receipt.  Definitely more customer-friendly because I took care of everything in one place and was out of the store and didn’t have to keep a receipt.

Using this as an example, what types of efficiencies could your business utilize to be efficient, green, and customer friendly?

I welcome your comments and please feel free to contact me if you need help with any efficiencies that you come up with.

Comments»

1. Thinking Differently Required « Refocusing Technology - January 9, 2009

[…] would really like to see another set of options added.  They are all electronic options.  My post a few months ago about the Apple Store outlined what my vision would be like.  Here would be some […]


Leave a Reply

